Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Les Miserables... THE PLAY!!!

  On March 11, The Abba's Orchard School, my school, did a play called "Les Miserables" (Lay Miserab, that's how you say it). It has been a play that we've practiced for months (almost the whole school year) and at the end... was a complete SUCCESS!!!!
But also, left everyone very tired...
This just goes to show that the saying "Practice makes perfect" is one of the most truthful sayings you will ever hear.

So... for those people who do not know the story of Les Miserables, here's the summary:

It all starts with a convict name Jean Valjean, who was released from prison after nineteen years. Having no where else to go, Valjean knocks on the door of M. Myriel, a kind bishop of Digne. The priest treats the man with kindness, and was repaid by getting his silverware stolen. The police captures Valjean, but the Priest lies to the police telling them he gave the silverware as a gift. The police release Valjean and the Priest makes hom promise to be an honest man. Eager to fulfill his promise, Valjean goes to another palce and disguises himself as another man named Madeleine. He becomes successful and was named Mayor of the town....
Fantine, a young woman who was impregnated by a student and was abandoned, strives to make money for the Thenardiers ( a family who runs an inn), who is in possesion of her daughter.... Cosette. She works at the factory Madeleine spent on, but was then fired after they found out she had a child. With no other choice, because the Thenardiers were demanding more money "for Cosette", she became a prostitute, after selling her beautiful hair. One night, Javert (a police chief) arrests Fantine. She was supposed to be sent to prison, but Mendeleine interfered. Fantine falls ill and longs to see Cosette... This is taking too long, so I guess I have to summarize the summary!
Madeleine Promises to bring Cosette to Fantine, but gets into a heated argument with Javert after Javert found out that he was Valjean. because of shock, Fantine died. Valjean spends 5 years in prison and comes looking for Cosette afterwards. He finds Cosette and pays the Thenardiers  a large amount of money for her...
Years later, Fantine is walking in a park and see's Marius (with the students), and it was love at first sight. But Valjean gets protective of Cosette and leads her away. He gets curious and ask his friend, Eponine, about her (Who is the daughter of the Thenardiers). After knowing eachother, they fell in love, leaving Eponine sad because she had a secret crush on Marius...
The students plan on going against the... Government? (I don't know what it's called during their time) making Marius join them in battle. After the battle, almost everyone dies. Valjean searches for Marius, only to find him halfdead. Valjean saved him, wanting Cosette to be happy...
Marius gets married to Cosette and Valjean dies... after seeing all the dead people in his past life....

And that's out play!! Here are pictures of the play:












Monday, December 13, 2010

The ELEVENTH Day of Christmas

I want to do something for Christmas! (other than just celebrating it)
I want to do something that would help the poor or something, because when I hear my friends or family talk about doing something for them, they seem so happy!
I've actually felt that joy myself when I was younger. That's when I gave a street kid my share of the food.
It felt awesome! and I want to feel that joy again!
So... I'm planning on asking my Tita if I could go with her to the orphanage and give the kids there food and clothes!
I hope she would allow....
Then a thought came to me, its a saying I always here around Christmas.
"Christmas is about giving not receiving" or something like that...
(But I only hear that when someone wants a gift from me... hehehehehe...)

Sunday, December 12, 2010

The TENTH day of Christmas

The first thing I see when I arrived in CDO was Christmas decorations!! Even in Cebu, I saw a LOT of Christmas decorations! Parols, Christmas lights and last but not the least, a HUGE  Christmas tree!
(I saw this in Cebu.) Basically all the trees were decorated with "Twinkling lights."
...EVERYTHING WAS SO COLORFUL AT NIGHT!!!
We ( my family and I) went to Ayala mall and I saw... Twilight Saga books made out of CAKE!! CAKE!!! I  want that for my birthday!
Green, green, green, green, Red, red, red, red... It's kinda getting annoying after a while...

The NINETH Day of Christmas

On December 11, we (my Family and I) went to Cebu to "Celebrate" the wedding of my cousin.
We had ANOTHER family reunion ( on my mothers side) and it was AWESOME!!!!
AND I just found out that I'm a tita! O.O
Anyways, It's just so cool to have a wedding when Christmas is so near! If your the newly Wed's, you get more PRESENTS! hehehehehe....
I'm just going to miss my family there, their all so awesome! (Their from Osamis, Where  my mother was born... My cousins there are so old!)
One of my wishes for Christmas is that they spend Christmas with us.
I got close to them for a short period of time only!

The EIGHTH Day of Christmas

CHRISTMAS HAIKU NUMBER TWO!! (hehehe... That rhymed)

Bells could be heard
Everyone is smiling
Santa is coming

Friday, December 10, 2010

The SEVENTH Day of Christmas

CHRISTMAS POEM NUMBER TWO!!


Under the Christmas tree
All kinds of gifts I see

All kinds of shapes and sizes
There wasn't any room for surprises

Candy canes were hanging is socks
And kids were playing with blocks

Laughter and cheers could be heard
And the baby didn't say a word

Food was everywhere
People couldn't help but stop and stare

This is what Christmas was about
So just smile and don't give a pout!

The SIXTH Day of Christmas

FIREWORKS!!!! 

 
(This pic is awesome, I wish I was there...)

That's what I'm excited about this Christmas!! Last year, we were lucky that someone gave THREE boxes of fireworks as a GIFT! (Some people are really gangrenous.)  
My brother got so excited, he wanted to be the one to light them up. It was funny, because whenever he would light them up, he would run away screaming. Ahh... good times.
Anyway, last year like I said, we had THREE fireworks:
One small one and two LARGE ones. (we also has sparklers)
We first lit the small one... I was surprised that even though it was so small, the "Explosion" was HUGE! My family and I had to cover our ears. (the box was the size of a watch box)
Then, we lit the two big ones... all I can say was...wow... 
It was so incredible that at the end, our neighbors came to us... and the guards got mad... hehehehe...
It was one of the best Christmas' I ever had! and I'm not going to forget it!